The Kresge Artist Fellowship applications are reviewed by independent fellowship panels. Panelists are experienced and well-respected national, regional and local artists and arts professionals and are selected according to the categories of arts disciplines being reviewed. The Kresge Arts in Detroit Advisory Council nominates panelists who ensure knowledge of the art forms, a balance of artistic perspectives and an understanding of the local artistic environment. Panelists represent the diversity of artistic styles within the disciplines, as well as diversity of age, ethnicity, gender and geography.

The Kresge Artist Fellowship panelists remain anonymous during the selection process. The names of the Kresge Artist Fellowship panelists are revealed once the Kresge Artist Fellowships are announced.

Dance/Music Panelists2014 PANELISTS - DANCE/MUSIC

(pictured left to right)
Kristy Edmunds, choreographer, executive and artistic director of the Center for the Art of Performance at UCLA, founder of Portland Institute for Contemporary Art
Johnny Evans, composer, musician and bandleader
Karen Sherman, choreographer, performer and scenic designer
Carl Craig, Grammy Award-nominated composer, producer, electronic musician and artistic director of Movement Electronic Music Festival
George E. Lewis, composer, performer, professor and vice-chair of the department of music at Columbia University

Film/Theatre Panelists2014 PANELISTS – FILM/THEATRE

(pictured left to right)
Shaun Nethercott, executive director and co-founder of Matrix Theatre Company
Brian Rogers, director, video artist, co-founder and artistic director of The Chocolate Factory Theater in New York
Shay Wafer, theatre director and executive director of New York-based 651 ARTS
Kenneth Cosby, screenwriter, playwright, director, actor and artist in residence at Towne Street Theatre in Los Angeles
Sue Marx, Academy Award-winning director and producer

2013 Panelists – LITERARY ARTS

(pictured from left to right)
Wanda Coleman, poet and author
Ken Mikolowski, poet, editor, publisher and lecturer in English at University of Michigan
Claudia La Rocco, performance critic for The New York Times and editor-at-large for The Brooklyn Rail
Bill Harris, playwright, poet, critic and novelist
Robert Polito, director of writing programs at The New School and incoming president of The Poetry Foundation

2103 AF VA Panel 2013 Panelists – VISUAL ARTS

(pictured from left to right)
Hamza Walker, associate curator for the Renaissance Society, University of Chicago
Shinique Smith, visual artist
Rebecca Hart, associate curator of contemporary art, Detroit Institute of Arts
Eric Fischl, painter and sculptor
Nancy Mitchnick, painter and educator

2012 Panelists – LITERARY ARTS

(pictured from left to right)
Thomas Lynch, poet and author
Toi Derricotte, poet and professor of English at University of Pittsburgh
John Yau, poet, critic and weekend editor,
Melba Joyce Boyd, distinguished professor and chair of Africana studies at Wayne State University
Ishmael Reed, poet, essayist and novelist


2012 Panelists – PERFORMING ARTS

(pictured from left to right)
Don Byron, composer, multi-instrumentalist, critic and educator
Thom Jurek, music critic and staff writer,
Dr. Ysaye Barnwell, musician, Sweet Honey In the Rock, actress and educator
Laura Kuhn, executive director, John Cage Trust and professor of performance art at Bard College
Michael Kondziolka, director of programming, University Musical Society

2011 Panelists – VISUAL ARTS

(pictured from left to right)
Mary Fortuna, exhibition director, Paint Creek Center for the Arts
Nick Cave, artist
Fred Wilson, artist
Anne Pasternak, president and creative director, Creative Time
Mame Jackson, professor emerita, art history, Wayne State University

2010 Panelists – LITERARY ARTS

(pictured from left to right)
Cary Loren, owner, Bookbeat
Lynne Tillman, writer and cultural Critic
Thylias Moss, professor, University of Michigan
Brad Leithauser, professor, John Hopkins University (on monitor)

2010 Panelists – PERFORMING ARTS

(pictured from left to right)
Grisha Coleman, artist/assistant professor in arts, media and engineering, Arizona State University
Benjamin Hernandez, curator of public programs, Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit
Aaron Dworkin, founder and president, Sphinx Organization
Greg Tate, musician and writer

2009-AF-VA-panelist-photo2009 Panelists – VISUAL ARTS

(pictured from left to right)
Susan Bandes, former director, Kresge Art Museum, Michigan State University
Dick Goody, associate professor and director, Oakland University Art Gallery
Lorna Simpson, artist
Richard Tuttle, artist

Aaron Betsky, director, Cincinnati Art Museum (not pictured)